My New Favorite Snack

1 Comment

Around mid-afternoon, I always find I need a little something to get me through until dinner – which in our house can be as late as 9:00 some nights. I know – I’m not a big fan of eating that late, but sometimes schedules just can’t be helped.

My new favorite snack is Greek yogurt with blueberries – but not just any Greek yogurt and not just any blueberries!  Plain yogurt is fine, but what has gotten me hooked is lemon flavored Chobani yogurt.  I know it has more sugar than the plain, but in this case it’s worth it.  It’s not some icky artificial lemon flavor. It has real lemon pulp in it that you can actually see.  It has a fresh taste to it, unlike those chemically engineered “light” yogurt type substances.  The blueberries are ones that we picked at Jones Family Farm last summer.  We picked a TON of them, and boy were they gorgeous!  One of the things we did with them was to freeze a few quarts for the winter.  I have been hesitant to use them, but now that the ones in the grocery store are anemic with an astronomical price tag, I have broken into the stash.  I heat up about a cup of the blueberries in the microwave – just enough to soften them up and thaw them out, but not to make them hot.  Then, I dump the container of yogurt on top and mix them together.  Top with a couple of walnuts and it is literally the perfect snack.  Protein, super fruit, and good fats.  Can’t get much better than that!

One thought on “My New Favorite Snack

Leave a Reply

