Clean Eating Challenge

Leave a comment

Monday was the first day of the Clean Eating Challenge with my Team Beachbody accountability group. I have to say – I’m a bit nervous about this one. 30 days of clean eating. One cheat meal a week. I’m sure I can do it though – but it’s going to be tough. Hence, the name challenge, right?

One of the requirements was to do some starting measurements, which I did this morning. I think that’s one of the things I was most apprehensive about. I was 3 weeks in to my fitness program (ChaLEAN Extreme) and the next check-in is next week for measurements, so this was a week early. I have to say, I was pleased with my numbers. All but one went down! Here is where I stood on Day 1 of the CEC:

Weight: 292.2 (-1.5)

Waist: 46 (-1 1/2)

Chest: 49 1/2 (-1 1/2)

Hips: 56 1/2 (-1 1/2)

Abductors: 52 3/4 (-1/4)

Right Thigh: 28 (-1 1/2)

Left Thigh: 28 3/4 (-1/4)

Right Arm: 16 (same)

Left Arm: 16 (-1/2)

So…all told, that’s a total of 1.5 lbs and  7 inches.  7 inches!! I wish the weight part was higher, but that will come. My husband once told me (in stock market-ese) that weight is often a “lagging indicator” – in other words, the results often show up a week or two later. I’m fine with that. I know it will happen – I just have to keep going.

Now that we’re done with the numbers, on to the clean eating part! Basically, what this challenge is doing is teaching me to eat healthier one day at a time. I’m sticking to the foods in the top 2 tiers of Michi’s Ladder (with the occasional dip into tier 3), and using lots of online resources and a few books I have for recipes to help me. Here are some of my favorites:

Clean Eating Magazine

The Eat Clean Diet

The Gracious Pantry

Books:

The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook 2

Clean Start

As of today, I’m on day 4. So far, so good! I’ve had a few little things that have derailed me here and there, but I have been sticking to my rule that I get back on track with the next BITE, not on the next DAY! So that little chocolate cupcake from Magnolia Bakery yesterday? That was it. Right back on track after that! But boy, was that good… 🙂

As I go through the challenge, I’ll post recipes here from time to time. I’m also keeping track of everything I eat and all of my workouts on my Facebook page – click here if you want more detailed information about my daily menus and other health and fitness information. You can also follow me on Twitter! For more information about the Beachbody products I’ve been using (ChaLEAN Extreme and Shakeology), click here to head to my Team Beachbody site.

Not quite sure what’s for dinner tonight, but I have a block of tempeh hanging out in the fridge that I just might have to experiment with… 🙂


Leave a Reply

