Good News and Bad News…

2 Comments

Whenever someone tells me they have some good news and some bad news, it’s pretty typical that the good news is good for them and the bad news is bad for me. I had one of those times this week.

I have been working out at Get In Shape for Women for almost 6 months now. It’s a really great place – they have a balanced program of cardio, weight training, nutrition, and accountability that has really gotten me into a great routine. I have been working with one particular trainer, Adriana, since I first started there. I’ve gotten to know her really well – after all, I have been working with her 3 days a week! She knows my strengths and my weaknesses – both physically and mentally. She knows when to push – and when to push harder! She is creative with the program, and keeps us from getting bored. She challenges not just our muscles, but our sense of self and limitations.

The good news is that the owners of the studio recognized Adriana’s awesomeness – her commitment to her clients, her ability to connect with each and every one of us, and her amazing personality – and promoted her to manager. That is amazing news! It is so well deserved, and she will be an incredible manager! The bad news is that it takes her away from us – her devoted following – and moves her to another studio.

As soon as she told me, I started getting teary-eyed, and I couldn’t really say much because I felt such a mix of emotions. I am so happy for her, and so glad that she is getting the recognition she deserves. On the other hand, I am losing a key player in my journey. Adriana has really been instrumental in getting me this far. Yes, I know it’s all on me, but having someone to help you along, to remind you of your capabilities when you’re starting to doubt yourself, to challenge you when you think you can’t do another rep…it really means a lot. Anyone who has worked so closely with someone on a journey like this will understand.

I know I’ll keep progressing, and I’m sure I’ll find another trainer who is really great – but nobody can replace Adriana. Friday nights will never be the same, that’s for sure!!

Thank you, Adriana, for all that you have done to help me find my way on this path, and for keeping me challenged and motivated to stay there! You will be missed!

2 thoughts on “Good News and Bad News…

  1. I read this last night! I am sorry to hear you are losing Adriana. I know that totally cramps your style…but you are doing AWESOME, I have to say. You look thinner and thinner every time I see you! I LOVE your smiling face in Zumba. and insert eva cheesy line here, but I’ve always believed that when one door closes, another one opens.. another good trainer could be RIGHT around the corner!

  2. Thanks! I know all about the “everything happens for a reason” and “when one door closes another one opens” thing – and I know that you’re right. It’s just hard right now when I’m in such a groove! All I have to say is if you stop teaching Zumba anytime soon, I’ll lose my mind!!!!

Leave a Reply

