Grumpier Old Men and Cannelloni

3 Comments

Maybe one other person in the world would get the title of this post, and that would be my husband. Whenever we go to an Italian restaurant, or I am cooking some form of baked pasta, our conversation always turns to the scenes from Grumpier Old Men with Burgess Meredith in the grocery store…

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, I can continue with my post. 🙂

The other day, my new issue of Clean Eating Magazine came. I took one look at this cover and said…I HAVE TO MAKE THIS!!!

 

I am a sucker for baked pasta. Lasagna, ravioli, stuffed shells, manicotti, and yes, cannelloni. I have never made cannelloni before, and this turkey, sweet potato and cheese version seemed like the perfect excuse reason to try! Besides, how could I say no to a recipe that has homemade tomato sauce, sweet potatoes, and goat cheese??

The recipe is fairly simple.

Roast a cubed sweet potato tossed in a little olive oil.

Super simple tomato sauce – just tomatoes, garlic, basil, salt & pepper, and a touch of raw honey!

The filling – ground turkey with garlic and thyme, roasted sweet potato, Greek yogurt, and goat cheese.

Roll it up!

Lay seam side down in the pan.

Top with sauce – looks just like the magazine, except they have a prettier dish!

Bake for 30 minutes covered with foil. YUM!

Couldn’t resist melting a little fresh mozzarella on the top… 🙂

Generally I love the recipes from Clean Eating Magazine – fairly simple, not many crazy ingredients, and they just taste really good. This issue (I was saying episode in my head…I’m brain fried!) has several make-ahead recipes that would work well for freezing. With my crazy busy schedule lately, I’m always looking for ways to make life easier! This isn’t going to make it to the freezer, but it most certainly will make a yummy lunch tomorrow as leftovers!

Do you have any make-ahead favorites?

Do any foods remind you of movie scenes?

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Grumpier Old Men and Cannelloni

  1. Pingback: Marvelous in my Monday #4 | Losing It Little By Little

  2. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #5 | Losing It Little By Little

  3. Pingback: What a Wacky Week! | Losing It Little By Little

Leave a Reply

