What I Ate Wednesday #5

Leave a comment

Happy Wednesday!  Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting another WIAW!

 

Today is one of those days that I’m glad I don’t have pictures of what I ate, because most of it wasn’t very good… Usually I’m much better about my choices, but then again, usually I plan and take my own lunch! I was at a workshop today where “continental breakfast and lunch” were provided. We all know what continental breakfast means – a ton of sugary pastries and maybe fruit if you’re lucky. Thankfully, I ate an apple and a handful of walnuts in the car on the way there, so the spread of sugar wasn’t quite as tempting. I did succumb to half of a cinnamon bun thingy – but at least it wasn’t a Cinnabon!

Lunch was a disaster – the place definitely didn’t plan well, and I wound up with a half of a veggie wrap that had NO protein whatsoever, a small cup of cut up fruit, a mini bottle of soda (real stuff – sugar and all) and some Fritos. Yes, I know…I didn’t HAVE to eat the Fritos, but by the time I got to the table, there were only a few pieces of wraps left, and just enough fruit for one cup. The people behind me had to wait almost another half hour for their lunch! I’ve been to conferences put on by this organization before, and they have been much more well organized.

In the afternoon, we had a break around 2:30 – right around the time I’m looking for a snack. I was hoping for some fruit, veggies…SOMETHING healthy…because I was really hungry after the awful lunch I had. No such luck. Cookies and brownies. That’s it. Brownie won. I did manage to grab a bottle of water, which is probably the healthiest thing I had there besides the cup of fruit at lunch! Needless to say, I couldn’t WAIT for a healthy dinner when I got home!

I didn’t have anything ready – I had planned on putting some chili in the crockpot this morning, but I got up a little later than I had hoped. Instead, I made the amazing sweet potato, turkey and goat cheese cannelloni that I made last week from Clean Eating Magazine. It came together pretty quickly, and tasted SOOOOOO good after a day of not so good choices!

Lessons (re)learned today:

  1. Don’t depend on food provided at conferences. Bring your own breakfast/lunch!
  2. If you know you’re going to have a long day, make sure you have something prepped for dinner!
  3. Drink LOTS of water to keep from getting too hungry!
  4. Make sure you pack several small, healthy snacks to get you through those “hungry” times mid-morning and mid-afternoon!

At least I ate a couple of decent things on this WIAW! Hope you did better than I did…

Have you ever had a “meals provided” disaster??

What are your go-to packable healthy snacks?

Leave a Reply

