Happy Thanksgiving! – Thankful Thursday #4

Leave a comment

What a perfect day to have a Thankful Thursday! Thanks to Julia at Black Tag Diaries for hosting!

I keep joking that this year we are just having a kids’ table for Thanksgiving… It’s just my husband, my brother-in-law, and me. My inlaws moved to Florida last December, and we all have such crazy work schedules that we knew there was no way we’d all get there for Thanksgiving. Last year everyone was here because my inlaws were waiting for their house in Florida to be finished, so they lived with us for a few weeks. Chaotic? Yes. Did I love it? Yes. I like hosting family for holidays. This year I was glad my brother-in-law agreed to come up from Manhattan to have dinner with us. As I type this, the boys are at the gym doing a little Thanksgiving “pre-burn” in spin class.

The Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade is about to start, my house is starting to smell like all of the traditional yumminess… This day always brings back memories of when I was a kid. Thanksgiving was a big deal – and when I say big, I mean big. My mom was one of six sisters, so the family was big. We always had two turkeys and more sides than you could imagine, so the food was big. It was one of the few times that all of the cousins got together so we had some big fun playing in the yard at my grandfather’s house. Now, Thanksgiving isn’t as big. There’s no real tradition to it anymore. My husband and I don’t have children, so some years we went into New York to the parade with his mom and stepdad, some years we spent the holiday with his dad, stepmom, and brother, other years it was just us.

Although this year is small – just the three of us “kids” – I was bound and determined to make it a “real” Thanksgiving. My husband suggested at one point that we just order Chinese. Um…no. Not gonna happen on my watch! I made spinach dip with crudité, shrimp cocktail, and some crab stuffed mushrooms to snack on while watching football. For dinner, we’re having roasted turkey (boneless breast – I can’t carve a bird to save my life!), mashed potatoes, stuffing, sautéed broccoli with garlic and crushed red pepper, roasted Brussels sprouts with pecans, spiced maple butternut squash, and of course, pecan pie and pumpkin pie for dessert. Sounds like a lot, right? Well…my brother-in-law is a young, single guy living in NYC so I fully plan on sending him home with leftovers. 🙂

Of course the most important part of the holiday is spending it with the people who mean the most to you. Thankfully, I get to do that today. Sure, not all of my family and friends are here with us physically, but just keeping them close in thought makes today extra special. I’m also thankful for all of you who are joining me on this journey – thank you for your support, encouragement, tips and tricks, and just for being there! Happy Thanksgiving to each and every one of you!

Do you have any special Thanksgiving traditions?

What is your favorite Thanksgiving food?

 

Leave a Reply

