A Sweet Treat To Ring In the New Year

Leave a comment

photo 2

Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Bacon Bark.

Yup. That second to last word is BACON.

Some of you just read that and think I’ve seriously lost my mind. Others read it and are thinking GENIUS! Either way, you really should read the rest of this post – and as my mother used to say, “don’t yuck it ’till you try it!!!”

Yesterday, I picked up a copy of the book Practical Paleo while I was at Costco. Since I’ve already had to go gluten-free, I’m thinking that trying out paleo is probably the next step in my health and nutrition journey. I have one recipe simmering away in my crockpot for dinner, but I wanted to try something a little out of the ordinary for a treat…

I’ve seen many recipes with chocolate and bacon, and I always thought it would be…well…gross. Wow. I thought wrong!

This recipe was SUPER easy, and it’s delicious! A small piece is definitely enough to satisfy the craving. I did alter it a bit from the book, but I’m sure it would come out just as well if you followed the recipe to a T. Anyone who knows me will tell you that I’m notorious for “doctoring” things up! Here’s my version…

Dark Chocolate Hazelnut Bacon Bark with Sea Salt

2 cups dark chocolate chips (I used Guittard Extra Dark – found them at Whole Foods)

2 tsp. bacon drippings

1 cup toasted hazelnuts, skins rubbed off and roughly chopped

4 slices bacon, cooked crisp and chopped

1/4 tsp. flaked sea salt

 

Melt chocolate chips with bacon drippings in the microwave – 30 seconds at a time, stirring every 30 seconds, until just about melted (a total of 2 – 3 minutes). Pour the chocolate out on a sheet of parchment paper laid on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle the hazelnuts, bacon, and sea salt over the chocolate and let set. (Yes – you really have to wait.) Break into chunks.

photo 3

photo 5

photo 4

Oh yes. This will be a very happy new year.

Leave a Reply

